News Update :
Home » , , , » Nominees for the films and filmmakers “Yellow Robin Award 2013 " Announced

Nominees for the films and filmmakers “Yellow Robin Award 2013 " Announced

Writer : Caribbean E-Magazine on Monday, March 25, 2013 | 12:19 PM

A shot from Ghett’a Life
The nominees for the first Yellow Robin Award of the Curaçao International Film Festival Rotterdam have been announced.

A competition aimed at encouraging up-and-coming film talent from the Caribbean and neighbouring Latin American countries, the award will be handed out at the second edition of Curaçao IFFR, which takes place from 4–7 April 2013.

The nominated films and filmmakers for the Yellow Robin Award 2013 are:

v  No quiero dormir sola – directed by Natalia Beristain (Mexico)

v  SistaGod – directed by Yao Ramesar (Trinidad and Tobago)

v  Children of God – directed by Kareem Mortimer (Bahamas)

v  Larga Distancia– directed by Esteban Insausti (Cuba)

v  Ghett’a Life – directed by Chris Browne (Jamaica)


The nominating institutions for the shortlisted films are:

The Festival Internacional de Cine de Morelia (Mexico); the trinidad+tobago film festival ; the Bahamas Film & Television Commission;  the Instituto Cubano del Arte e Industria Cinematográficos (ICAIC); and the Jamaica Promotions Corporation.

The award comes with a US$10,000 cash prize and travel to and accommodation in Rotterdam for the 2014 edition of the prestigious International Film Festival Rotterdam. The winning film will screen at IFFR 2014 and the filmmaker will be given an opportunity to network with industry professionals present at the festival.

During Curaçao IFFR the festival will create several activities enabling the nominees to learn about IFFR, to network and to get feedback on future projects.

The five films will be screened during Curaçao IFFR, giving the jury deciding the award the opportunity to see the films on the big screen and with an audience. The jury is made up of Rutger Wolfson (director of IFFR), David Pinedo (film critic and script advisor) and Bernadette Heiligers (text producer and public relations expert).

The winner will be announced during the closing night award ceremony on April 7.

Copyright 2013 Caribbean E-Magazine All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without credit..
Share this article :
Design Template by panjz-online | Support by creating website | Powered by Blogger