top of page
  • Writer's picture

Machel Montano Reigns Supreme: Winning the Calypso Monarch with 'Soul of Calypso

Trinidad and Tobago's Carnival season has witnessed yet another historic moment as the incomparable Machel Montano clinched the title of Calypso Monarch for the year 2024 with his mesmerizing rendition of 'Soul of Calypso'. Positioned at number three among twelve competitors, Montano's performance at the Dimanche Gras show at the Queen's Park Savannah left audiences spellbound, propelling him to the top of the list and earning him the grand prize of $500,000 along with a luxurious vehicle valued at up to $350,000.

Machel Montano

In a night filled with stellar performances and intense competition, Montano's triumph stood as a testament to his unparalleled talent and enduring legacy in the realm of soca music. Former Calypso Monarchs Karene Asche and Roderick 'Chucky' Gordon secured the second and third positions respectively, showcasing the depth of talent present on the stage.

Mical Teja's powerhouse hit 'DNA' earned him the fourth spot, while former Monarchs Helon Francis, Kurt Allen, and Winston 'Gypsy' Peters claimed the fifth, eighth, and tenth positions respectively, further enriching the diverse array of performances witnessed throughout the evening. Defending champion Duane Ta'Zayah O'Connor, despite his formidable presence, finished ninth overall, reflecting the fierce competition that characterized this year's event.

Montano's victory is not just a personal triumph but also a milestone in the history of Trinidad and Tobago's Carnival, as he becomes the first individual to achieve the remarkable feat of winning the Young Kings, Road March, Soca Monarch, and now Calypso Monarch titles. This unparalleled achievement cements Montano's status as a true icon of the soca genre and a legend in the making.

The final standings of the competition reflected the depth of talent present on the stage:

  1. Machel Montano - 'Soul of Calypso'

  2. Karene Asche

  3. Roderick 'Chucky' Gordon

  4. Mical Teja

  5. Helon Francis

  6. Stacey Sobers

  7. Aaron Duncan

  8. Kurt Allen

  9. Ta'zyah O'Connor

  10. Winston 'Gypsy' Peters

  11. Brian London

  12. Dillon Thomas

Congratulations to all the participants!

What are your thoughts on Machel Montano's victory? Share your favorite Calypso performers and songs in the comments below!


bottom of page