top of page
  • Writer's picture

David Kushner’s Song “Daylight” Wins Grand Prize in the International Songwriting Competition (ISC)

David Kushner

May 7, 2024…Nashville, TN, USA - The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2023 competition. After careful consideration by a distinguished panel of judges comprising iconic music artists, songwriters, and industry professionals, the winners have emerged from a diverse pool of approximately 14,000 entries spanning a multitude of genres and 140 countries.

Established in 2002 to honor and promote the art of songwriting, ISC gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, including a $25,000 cash prize to the overall Grand Prize winner. Since its inception, ISC has become the most respected and influential international competition in the music industry, and winning ISC is a significant accomplishment for a songwriter.

This year the overall Grand Prize is awarded to the song “Daylight,” co-written by David Kushner, Hayden Robert Hubers, Jeremy Fedryk, Joshua Bruce Williams, Edison Boon Eason, and Drake Jon Livingston Jr. The song is a collaborative effort and reflects the individual perspectives and writing skills of these talented songwriters.

“The first time I heard the Grand Prize-winning song “Daylight,” I knew that it was extraordinary,” said Founder Candace Avery. “It is a song that showcases a profound understanding of the art of songwriting, not just as a composition but also as an anthem that beautifully reflects the complexities of the human spirit. It is truly a tour de force of songwriting and as such has earned its rightful place as a beacon of musical excellence in the International Songwriting Competition.”

As the performer of “Daylight,” Kushner is an incredibly gifted artist who brings the song to life in such a memorable way, and he is poised to leave an indelible mark on the music world. In a very short time, David Kushner‘s career skyrocketed after achieving huge success with his first single “Miserable Man” which went viral on TikTok.” This single, along with the second single, “Forgettable,” appeared on his debut EP Footprints / Found which was released in 2022. The ISC-winning song “Daylight” was released in April, 2023 and since then has amassed more than a billion plays on Spotify alone - and growing daily. It was also nominated in the 2024 BRIT Awards for International Song of the Year. Originally from Chicago, IL, Kushner now resides in Los Angeles and continues to put out new songs.

ISC winners have included many artists who have gone on to achieve great success, including Vance Joy, Bastille, Tones and I, Coco Jones, Gotye, Illenium, Fantastic Negrito, Faouzia, Lindsey Stirling, Rachel Bloom, The Teskey Brothers, Ondara, Passenger, The Band Perry, Dean Lewis, Gregory Porter, Amy Shark, and many more.

In addition to the Grand Prize winner, ISC awards a First, Second, and Third Place in each category. These winners embody the spirit of musical diversity and continue to inspire and captivate audiences worldwide with their distinctive voices and unique perspectives. Hailing from all over the world (50% of this year’s winners come from outside the USA), they range from talented amateurs to seasoned songwriting veterans.

Judges include:

Celebrity judges include: Mariah Carey, Tom Waits, Jennifer Hudson, Joe Hahn (Linkin Park), Reba McEntire, Gabby Barrett, Steven Curtis Chapman, Arlo Parks, Rosanne Cash, James Adam Shelley (American Authors), Kristian Bush (Sugarland), Stephen Sanchez, Shooter Jennings, Lonnie Liston Smith, Steve Lillywhite, Sidewalk Prophets, Kim Wilson (The Fabulous Thunderbirds), Nancy Wilson (Heart), Glen Ballard, NEEDTOBREATHE, Dubfire, Ian Felice (The Felice Brothers), Danilo Perez, Jack DeJohnette, Stanley Jordan, Tim Rice-Oxley (Keane), Danny Gokey, James McNally, Jordan St. Cyr, Martin Tungevaag, Gordon Goodwin, Joe Louis Walker, Ashwin Batish, Carter Burwell, Nicholas Gunn, Nate Bargatze, and Fortune Feimster


Industry Judges: Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Daniel Glass (President/Founder, Glassnote Records); Richard Stumpf (CEO/Founder, Hawkeye Music Group); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Golnar Khosrowshahi (President, Reservoir Media Management); Will Speer (Managing Director, Magic Star Records/Sony); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, New West Records); Kate Labrel (VP of A&R, Warner Records); Christophe Muller (Global Head of Music Partnerships, YouTube); Jacob Edgar (Founder, Cumbancha); Garrett Davis (Director of A&R, Word Entertainment); Matt D'Arduini (Sr. VP of A&R /GM, Last Nite Records/Arista Records); Steven Rosen (President/Creative Marketing and Music Publishing, Regime Music Group); Joel Timen (VP of A&R and Publishing, Curb/Word Entertainment); Gina Tucci (Sr. VP of A&R /Gen Mgr., Big Beat Records/Atlantic Records); Justin Prager (Sr. Dir. of Programming, VEVO); Cesar Gomez Montoya (A&R, Codiscos); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Julie Kertes (Editor/General Manager, Hot Diggity Media); Jacqueline Post (Head of Publishing, Connection Music Publishing); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); Katherine Dines (Advisory Board and Magic Penny Award Chair, Children’s Music Network); Claire S. Green (President, Parents' Choice Foundation); Benjamin Groff (President, Brill Building Music Publishing); Tamara Conniff (EVP, Roc Nation Music Publishing); Carl Caprioglio (Founder & CEO, Oglio Entertainment); Elena Epstein (Director, National Parenting Product Awards); Sarah Wanstall (Production Mgr., ARC Music Productions)

ISC is sponsored by: AGD Entertainment, Arturia, Hookist, Lewitt, Lurssen, Music Business Registry, PlayMPE, Pressed Fresh, Proel, ROLI, and Songbox

For a complete list of winners and to listen to the winning songs, please visit the ISC website at

Entries are now open for ISC 2024. For more information and to enter, go to


bottom of page