top of page
  • Writer's picture

41st International Reggae and World Music Award: Teejay, Spice, and Masicka Leading the Charge

41st International Reggae and World Music Award

As the countdown begins to the highly anticipated 41st International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA), the reggae world is buzzing with excitement. Scheduled for Friday, March 22, 2024, at the prestigious Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (LPAC), this event promises an unforgettable celebration of music and talent. With the recent revelation of nominees and special honorees during the press conference held at the Chateau Mar Golf Resort in Fort Lauderdale, the stage is set for a night filled with glitz, glamour, and recognition of outstanding achievements in the industry.

Among the nominees, three names stand out as frontrunners, each boasting an impressive array of nominations: Teejay, Spice, and Masicka. These artists have not only captivated audiences with their electrifying performances but have also left an indelible mark on the reggae-dancehall and world music scene.

Spice: The Queen of Dancehall

Spice, often hailed as the Queen of Dancehall, leads the pack with four nominations, reaffirming her position as a powerhouse in the industry. Her nominations include Best Female Dancehall/Rap Artist, Onstage TV Award for Best Dancehall Stagecraft Entertainer, Dancehall Performer of the Year, and Best Social Media Content Creator Influencer. Known for her dynamic stage presence and bold lyricism, Spice continues to push boundaries and inspire generations of artists.

Masicka: Making Waves

Masicka emerges as another strong contender with nominations across key categories, including the prestigious Peter Tosh Award for Artiste of the Year and the Gregory Isaacs Award for Best Song with his hit track "Tyrant." His "GOK" album also contends for the "Toots Hibbert Award for Best Album/CD," showcasing his artistic depth.

Teejay: A Rising Star

Teejay, with six nominations to his name, is poised to make a significant impact at this year's IRAWMA Awards. His nominations include the Peter Tosh Award for Artiste of the Year, Gregory Isaacs Award for Best Song with "Drift," and his crossover talent shines with "Drift" featuring Davido, nominated for "Best Crossover Song." Other nominations includes the Uroy Award for Best Male Dancehall Deejay, among others. Teejay's unique sound and charismatic performances have earned him a dedicated fan base and critical acclaim.

Celebrating Excellence

Beyond the individual accolades, the IRAWMA nominations encompass a diverse range of categories, highlighting the depth of talent within the reggae and world music genres. From veteran artists to emerging talents, each nominee represents the rich tapestry of sounds and influences that define these musical traditions.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Peter Tosh Award for Artiste of the Year:

  • Popcaan

  • Masicka

  • Sean Paul

  • Teejay

  • Valiant

Jacob Miller Award for Best Male Vocalist of the Year:

  • Christopher Martin

  • Chronixx

  • Dexta Daps

  • Romain Virgo

  • Tarrus Riley

Best Female Vocalist:

  • Etana

  • Jada Kingdom

  • Lila Ike

  • Shaniel Muir

  • Stalk Ashley

Gregory Isaacs Award for Best Song:

  • “Tyrant” by Masicka

  • “21 Psalm” by Mavado

  • “Drift” by Teejay

  • “Talibans” by Byron Messia

  • “Mad Out” by Valiant

Toots Hibbert Award for Best Album/CD:

  • “Destiny” by Alborosie

  • “Simma” by Beenie Man

  • “No Destroyer” by Burning Spear

  • “Color of Royal” by Julian Marley

  • “Generation of Kings” by Masicka

Best Crossover Song:

  • “Talibans II” by Byron Messia and Burna Boy

  • “Hallelujah Heaven” by Lil’ Wayne, Buju Banton, and Shabba Ranks

  • “We Can’t Done” by Popcaan and Drake

  • “Unavailable” by Sean Paul, Davido, and Ding Dong

  • “Drift” by Teejay and Davido

Best EP Recording:

  • “Time Bomb” by Bounty Killer and Baby Cham

  • “Problem Child” by Holiday

  • “Mad Love” by Sean Paul

  • “In The Mood” by Shaggy

  • “From Me To You” by Valiant

Uroy Award for Best Male Dancehall Deejay:

  • Alkaline

  • Chronic Law

  • Masicka

  • Sean Paul

  • Teejay

Best Female Dancehall/Rap artist:

  • D’Angel

  • Jada Kingdom

  • Shenseea

  • Shaneil Muir

  • Spice

  • Stefflon Don

Best New Entertainer:

  • 450

  • Byron Messia

  • Najeeriii

  • Pablo YG

  • Young Bredda

Best Dancehall Stagecraft Entertainer:

  • Beenie Man

  • Dexta Daps

  • Masicka

  • Teejay

  • Spice

Best Singjay Entertainer:

  • 450

  • Alkaline

  • Chronic Law

  • Dexta Daps

Dancehall Performer of the Year:

  • Mavado

  • Masicka

  • Spice

  • Teejay

  • Valiant

The 41st Annual IRAWMA Awards promise to be a night to remember, celebrating the best in reggae, dancehall, and world music.


bottom of page